How…!

How deserted lies the city, once so full of people! How like a widow is she, who once was great among the nations! She who was a queen among the provinces has now become a slave. Bitterly she weeps at night, tears are upon her cheeks. Among all her lovers there is none to comfort her. All her friends have betrayed her; they have become her enemies.

Lamentations seems like the only place to go this morning. I spent the first part of the day reading Micah, where God promises to rise up the destroyed. They will become the destroyer. I had a Christmas assembly at the Academy, and I talked about how Jesus is our hope, and how Jesus being in the story, on the scene, means Christians get to be generous, get to be hospitable.

And then I got on Twitter, after some frustration formatting Christmas party invites for kids at my lunch club, and was overcome with the grief that the world is facing. Aleppo, the death penalty (and those facing it), Trump…

How…!

That’s all I had in me to respond. So I opened Lamentations. Those are the first two verses.

and pieces of this prayer from the Northumbria community:

Teach me to hear that story, 
through each person, 
to cradle a sense of wonder 
in their life, 
to honour the hard-earned wisdom 
of their sufferings 
to waken their joy
that the King of all kings
stoops down
to wash their feet, 
and looking up 
into their face
says, 
'I know - I understand.'

 

Leave a Reply

